SG Lewis And Robyn Rattle The Club, Billie Eilish Returns To Earth, And More Songs We Love

SG Lewis And Robyn Rattle The Club, Billie Eilish Returns To Earth, And More Songs We Love

Getty Images.

The look for the ever-elusive “bop” is hard. Playlists and streaming-service suggestions can just do so much. They frequently leave a lingering question: Are these songs really excellent, or are they simply new?

Get In Bop Shop, a hand-picked selection of songs from the MTV News group. This weekly collection does not discriminate by genre and can consist of anything– it’s a photo of what’s on our minds and what sounds great. We’ll keep it fresh with the most recent music, however expect a few oldies (however goodies) every as soon as in a while, too. Get ready: The Bop Shop is now open for service.

  • SG Lewis ft. Robyn and Channel Tres: “Impact”

    British singer-songwriter-producer SG Lewis is providing solid weight to a great year for disco-laced dance-pop, from assisting to deliver Victoria Monet’s sassy “ Experience,” to his own groovy “Chemicals.” It feels though those tracks lead the way to “Effect,” an equally remarkable, earth-shifting club banger, where gritty synth sets the pace for a thumping, swirling face-off in between legend Robyn and rising star Channel Tres, each enormously head-over-heels for the one that takes them higher.– Terron Moore

  • Bon Iver: “AUATC”

    In the previous edition of this very column, I composed, “What a week for Justin Vernon.” Ends up, that’s an evergreen statement! Fresh off a moody (and highly successful) collaboration with Taylor Swift— and after Mxmtoon called a tune after the band– Bon Iver has actually launched a squidgy, lovely new tune called “AUATC,” short for “Consumed All Their Cake.” The visitor vocalists on it consist of Jenny Lewis, Wye Oak’s Jenn Wasner, and a guy by the name of Bruce Springsteen. What a week for Justin Vernon, certainly. (And do not sleep on Wasner: Her band just launched a show-stopping new EP, tape-recorded with the Brooklyn Youth Chorus in all their vowel-rich goodness)– Patrick Hosken

  • Misterwives: “Ghost”

    Misterwives trade their sugary-sweet indie pop for something a little darker on “Ghost,” a standout track from their most current full-length, Superbloom Moody guitar riffs and constant percussion construct stress, and singer Mandy Lee’s explosive vocals in the chorus deal release: “I can’t have you, do not leave me/ I’ll have you, in between.” It’s the opening night out after a bitter separation soundtracked, and if that mournful type of angst isn’t a 2020 mood, then I do not know what is.– Sam Manzella

  • Youryoungbody: “OD”

    Early aughts-era techno gets a lacquer of matte black nail polish from Youryoungbody, a darkwave duo that, even prior to the release of their debut album, Dedication, had actually developed a devout following in their Seattle hometown. Properly, the Úna Blue-directed visuals for “OD,” possibly the clearest formation of their heavenly electro-pop, sees singer Duh Cripe and producer Killian Brom carry out for a cult-like sect of alien ravers.– Coco Romack

  • Area Sluts: “St. V”

    Aliens can get sad, too. Under her attractive and celestial name Area Sluts, Brooklyn musician Madi Cox challenges an ex-lover head on, taking no detainees from her opening line, “Do you seem like a guy?/ Did you do all that you can to break me?” Through the guise of a vocal looper and cascading meditations, she leaves no area of intergalactic heartbreak and catharsis unblemished, although her discomfort is worldly. “It’s you on my mind,” she breathily muses. “It’s you I left.”– Carson Mlnarik

  • Billie Eilish: “My Future”

    With absolutely nothing delegated prove, Billie Eilish pulled back inward with her brother, Finneas, and developed one of the completely most beautiful songs of the year. “My Future” is, certainly, about her future, and luckily for us, it traffics in optimism. Jazzy, blue, and lo-fi, the song is totally unanticipated, similar to the serotonin-releasing percussion that drops at 1: 43– Patrick Hosken

  • Ziemba: “True Romantic”

    World-building is a crucial tool for any experienced storyteller, and it is one with which the El Paso-based artist and reporter René Kladzyk, or Ziemba, is fully equipped. Her 2019 collection, Ardis, was a sci-fi epic about a parallel universe told through sound and odor: During a performance at MoMA PS1 that incorporated customized outfits and full choir, she spritzed the audience with scents customized to the state of mind of each number.

  • The Orphan The Poet: “Summertime Daze”

    Alt-rock group The Orphan The Poet construct their new sun-soaked anthem around the hypnotic line, “We’ll invest the summer in a daze,” and while a season in quarantine is certainly not what they were preparing for, it discovers new significance in the middle of what can best be described as a “daze.” The newly rechristened two-piece from Ohio stimulates the sound of ’90 s alternative bops prior to them with crispy production, vocals from all instructions, and lyrics that do not take themselves too seriously– from skinny-dipping in pools of champagne to a disturbance about a tub shipment on the seventeenth floor. Wherever you might be, let the sun blocking commence!– Carson Mlnarik

  • Nat & Alex Wolff: “Glue”

    Here’s an image I can’t get out of my head: Alex Wolff, haunted and ragged, slamming his face down onto a desk in 2018’s Genetic It’s excellently horrifying, the type of vision that lingers long after the credits roll. His brand-new tune with his sibling Nat— a twinkly slice of piano-led post-punk in the vein of The National– likewise deals in haunting visions, though the thankfully less violent kind. It’s all about nighttime jealousy here, love and desire and yearning melding into a rapturously big chorus.– Patrick Hosken

Read More